Succulent Terrarium

14 08 2012

Succulent terrariums have been all over pinterest lately.  When they started showing up I got really excited because I have become mildly obsessed with succulents lately; I already had one arrangement in a pot, an aloe vera plant, and the ones featured in this post.  I’ve been wanting to make one for quite some time now and finally got the chance to do it today.  Its not the most spectacular DIY terrarium out there, but I’m pretty happy with it… especially since is cost me absolutely nothing.  Everything used was found around my house!

Here’s what you’ll need:

1. A glass container with a large opening. I used an old candy jar we stopped using two years ago

2. Dirt. There are mixes made specifically for succulents, but I just used what we had sitting in the garage

3. Small stones or pebbles. I just washed a couple handfuls of gravel from my driveway, but you can go to any craft or gardening store and find much nicer looking ones. The dollar store also carries pebbles that would work. Another idea would be to use the stuff put in the bottom of fish bowls. The stones are essential to proper draining, but it doesn’t have to be anything spectacular.

Step 1. Line the bottom of your container with a decent amount of stones or pebbles.

Step 2.
Moisten your soil. It should feel damp when touched, but not be wet. Pour a layer of soil on top of the stones. It should be 1-2 inches thick.

Step 3.
Poke holes into the soil with your index finger. stick roots of plant into the hole and fill with soil. Pat the dirt around the plant down tight–not too tight though.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

