Plum Perserves

23 09 2012

First of all, please excuse any typos or formatting difference. Our good friend returned home from Afghanistan recently and has taken over my work room. I’m happy to help a friend but not to lose my space. Anyways, because of the lack of privacy I have taken to using my iPad for Internet related work.

I’m kicking myself right now because dad and I made plum preserves from our harvest and I didn’t photograph the process to share! I did grab a few photos of the finished product so I hope that’s good enough…..

20120912-200200.jpg

Isn’t that a lovely picture? I am aware that it resembles jars of hearts. My favorite part of this process was actually the cooking, which filled my house with the smell of candied fruit. It’s smells like that which make me wish for the ability to upload smells to my blog.

Last year we jarred tomatoes, so I had some jars leftt over. The plums were gathered from our garden, and we never have a shortage of sugar around here so this project was completely free to me. However, the jars can cost $15-30, plums prices vary by season, and sugar is relatively cheap.

So here’s what you will need:
2.5 lbs plums, small purple ones are best
4 cups sugar
1 cup water
2 large pots, one must be large enough to completely submerge jar under water
1 skillet

How to make plum preserves:
First, fill the skillet and one large pot with water. Submerge the jars in the large pot, and the lids and seals in the skillet. When the water reaches a full boil set a timer for 15 minutes. Remove everything from the water and set aside. Turn the water off.

Next you need to place the plums, sugar, and water inside the second large pot. Slowly bring the mixture to a boil, stirring continuously to prevent scorching. After the mixture reaches a full boil, continue cooking and stirring until it begins to thicken; about 15 minutes. Remove the pot from heat and ladle mixture into jars leaving 1/4 headspace at the top. Wipe down tops of jars to encourage a proper seal.

Finally, place the lids and seals onto the jars and tighten. Add the jars back to the water and turn the heat to high. Bring the plum mixture to a full boil and let cook for another 15 minutes. Remove the jars from water and allow them to fully cool.

While they are cooling you should hear a popping noise. This is the lids fully sealing. Check the jars and check to see I’d the center of the lid has been “sucked” down into the jar. If any of them haven’t, place into the fridge and use immediately.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

