Peasant Bread, Take 1

18 11 2012

Its not very often I come across a recipe that makes me excited.  Okay, since discovering Pinterest it is kind of often, but I don’t usually make anything.

Well last night I was browsing my Pinterest and homemade bread seemed to be a pretty recurring pin.  With winter rolling in swiftly it’s really not surprising.  Anyway, a couple of the pictures caught my eye but this one gained my full attention.

I’m sure you understand why.

The problem is, I haven’t exactly mastered the art of bread making.  There is only one other bread recipe I have cooked before, and it’s not a perfected art.

I tried to bake this peasant bread recipe.  I followed the directions from Alexandra Cooks perfectly.

I whisked together the salt and flour.

I dissolved sugar into lukewarm water and sprinkled water on top.  Unfortunately I didn’t see the part about letting it sit for 10-15 minutes to see if the yeast was active.  Instead, I just added it straight to the flour and mixed it up.

Then I just put a towel over it and set it in a warm area to rise.

I let it sit for an hour.  Nothing.

For another hour… still nothing.

Finally, after 3 hours the dough doubled so I punched it down with two forks just like the recipe said.

Then I buttered two oven safe bowls, separated the dough in half and placed on piece in each bowl

I put it in the oven and baked at 425*F for 10 minutes.  Then I lowered the temperature to 375*F and baked for another 25 minutes.

In the end they turned out like this.

 Nothing at all like the original recipe, buuuut they don’t taste too bad so we’ll eat them.

I can’t lie, I’m a little irritated that such a simple recipe gets so screwed up by me.

.::sad face::.

I’ll keep trying and trying, but hopefully I get a bread machine for Christmas.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

