DIY Laundry Detergent

9 12 2012

For the past few months I have been making my own powdered laundry detergent.  I just go so sick of buying the kinds you can get at the store; they are overpriced.  My DIY laundry detergent costs me about $10-12 every batch, and each batch can last me 3-5 months.  Remember, I washing clothes for seven people right now.  We do about 10 loads a week not including biweekly bedding washes or the stuff I have to wash randomly throughout the week (dog beds, shower curtains, window curtains, ect.), and this detergent lasted for 3 months.  I don’t really know what else I could say to anyone to convince them to just give this a try.

The performance isn’t something I’d brag about from the rooftops.  It’s not Tide, to say the least.  I’d say its comparable to smaller brands like Purex.  You’re still going to need to pretreat heavy stains, but I think if you turned the detergent into a paste or liquid, worked it into the spot and let it set a bit before washing the staining would come out easier.

If you look on pinterest you will see a lot of different recipes for DIY liquid laundry detergent.  I’m sure this is an effective option, but I am a mom of three, a full-time student, the only housekeeper for the most part, and a volunteer.  I’m busy, and often don’t want to spend extra time boiling ingredients or whatever you have to do for the liquid type.  My powedered detergent took me 10 minutes to make including grating 3 bars of soap.

Keep Reading to learn how to may your own laundry detergent.

  •  You will need:  Borax, Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda, and 3 bars of Ivory, Zote, or Fels-Naptha.  photo

 

  1. Grate all three bars of the soap.
  2. Dump the grated soap into the same container as the powders and mix them up well.
  3. One of the coolest thing about this detergent is how little you use with each wash.  1-2 tbsp, per was.  this scoop is from a Costco sized pink lemonade mixed (lol).  This is what I use to scoop detergent into each wash.  It’s perfect.
Actions

Information

3 responses

30 01 2013
Homemade Laundry Detergent | Cliopatra’s Writings

[…] DIY Laundry Detergent […]

31 01 2013
Evan Sirchuk

This is a really good idea!
I’m a student right now too, so I’m always looking for ways to stretch my dollar.
Could you possibly tell me what sized boxes you used for the washing soda and borax? I want to make sure I get the proportions right.

31 01 2013
mrsahillman

I used the big ones. Around 4 lbs I believe.
I’ll be making a new post with a new detergent recipe soon. and this blog moved.
be sure to check out the new recipe at

houseofdlc.BLOGSPOT.com!!

Leave a Reply

